Our Board

The High Streets Task Force Board oversees and guides the work of the Task Force, helping to ensure it meets the goals set when the Task Force was commissioned by the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG).

The High Streets Task Force Board combines experience from across private, public and community-led sectors. Board Members draw on their track record of innovation, visioning and delivery in making positive change happen on high streets.

Role of the Board

The Board oversees the performance of the Task Force in delivering on the agreed work programme and contract with MHCLG, but it has a wider role. Drawing on input from Task Force Partners, the Sector Leaders Group and Professional, Research and Data Group, as well as feedback from the work being done by the Task Force and its engagement with places and place leaders, the Board helps determine and address issues of national importance to town and city centres - directing Task Force support where appropriate. This enables it to be an authorative voice for the high street. 


  • Mark Robinson (Chair)
    Award-winning entrepreneur and investor in town centres, having co-founded the developer Ellandi in 2008

  • Vidhya Alakeson
    Founding Chief Executive of Power to Change, investing £60m to support the growth of community businesses across England since 2015

  • Joe Barratt
    Cofounder of the Teenage Market which sets up local markets nationwide for young people to showcase their creativity

  • Matt Colledge
    As Leader of Trafford Council created Altrincham Forward and helped lead transformation in the Greater Manchester town

  • Margaret Dale
    Leader of a community-led initiative to improve Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

  • Ibrahim Ibrahim
    Strategist and futurist, and Managing Director of Portland Design, a leading strategic branding and retail design business focused on future readiness

  • Emma Mackenzie
    Head of Asset Management at NewRiver Real Estate Investment Trust, which manages a £1.3bn portfolio of retail and community assets across the UK

  • Stuart Miller
    Customer Director at Newcastle Building Society, who are opening branches in smaller towns and finding innovate ways to retain others

  • Phil Prentice
    Chief Officer at Scotland’s Towns Partnership, which supports local authorities, Business Improvement Districts and communities across Scotland to work together to transform their towns

  • Diane Savory OBE
    Chair of GFirstLEP and former COO of UK fashion retailer, Superdry

  • Michele Wilby
    Chief Executive Officer at Colmore Business Improvement District, which works with businesses to support activity and services in Birmingham City Centre

  • Simon Quin
    Executive Director of the High Streets Task Force, attends Board Meetings

  • Research Lead of the High Streets Task Force, attends when required

Terms of Reference

The High Streets Task Force Board works with a Terms of Reference which is available to view.

Our Board brings great experience - helping to ensure we support place leaders